What Controls you?

Romans 1:25 – because they exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever! Amen.

Sadly these days I am witnessing more and more of people placing their trust in the things of this world. I try to be understanding to the way the world has caught people up into it. That is the sin of the world, following its ways. But in all the thinking we do about it, it comes down to one thing only, you are a slave to whatever controls you.

So if you are spending time looking at your cell phone instead of giving the person in front of you attention which that person deeply desires you to do, then that cell phone is controlling you, ok, Really? A piece of metal over a human being?

So it is said with God, if you are not giving God your full attention then how can you ever see the blessing? I have been guilty of this myself, I spend a lot of time in front of the computer but one day I thought I am missing life by sitting here letting this run my days. You know why? Because I exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshipped the creature rather than the Creator, I stopped and started spending time away from the computer and taking a walk or getting something accomplished elsewhere.

Do you see yourself here, doing and running after things that are empty? Then step back and see what God can do in your life once you put down the things that control you.

Shalom

Nancy

nancysabato.com

8 thoughts on “What Controls you?

  1. pat says:

    I struggle with this all the time. For about 10 years I’ve stayed home writing children’s books about Christ fooling myself I was serving Him with no human contact whatsoever except for my wife when she came home from work but then only long enough to say Hi, love you, and go take a nap while she turns on TV, grabs her laptop and/or phone, or tablet. Then I get up from my nap about an hour or so before she’s off to bed. I am also tied to the house taking care of our cat, an indoor outdoor feline who is dependent upon me for letting her in and out and food and water. A nice little package keeping me from the real world where there are people struggling with this life, yearning for the good news. I must get out!

    Like

    • godssimplekindness says:

      Pat,
      I came to the realization that satan enjoys seeing us bound up. It takes baby steps into the world to break the strongholds. There are people in the surrounding areas of your home that are house bound and can’t get to the store or doctor. May I suggest if you would be interested in going to this website care.com, you can find opportunties to help people there and get a small pay. Also, your church has small opportunties to help there.
      Step out in faith!
      Blessings, Nancy

      Like

      • Patrick Harrison says:

        Nancy, it’s strange but there’s always been an important woman in my life named Nancy which I’ve been missing for some 3o years. What a great suggestion! I’ll start out cat sitting which goes along with my new cat scratch repair and renewal service and that way I can meet cat lovers with lots in common and hopefully that will open the door to the really Good News and God can use me again anyway He sees fit. I tried signing up under my new service name but got rejected so tomorrow (if I ever get to sleep tonight) I’ll try signing up just as me. I’ll let you know how it goes. Again, thx so much for caring and suggesting…God Bless and Love as always! pat

        Like

Leave a Reply

