Making an Appointment with God

Recently I had lost a corporate job due to downsizing and have been doing a lot of praying on where God will send me next so  thought it was a good time to make a divine appointment with God for tomorrow and seek His will and a garden setting was the choice for quiet prayer.

So I set out for a beautiful Botanical garden in Ringwood NJ and got out of the car and walked, they had every kind of flower blooming and with camera in hand I set out to find the place to have that appointment. I found a gated area with a bench and some amazing green plant life with paths.

The reason I am writing to you about this is not the garden, job or anything else but really about the time you set aside for God. I realized that I don’t give God the time He deserves from me. I spend a lot of time in front of a computer, walking occasionally from the desk, but not looking at the word of God enough and not giving God time to speak into my heart, instead I’m filling it with more websites, emails and things to keep me away from spending that quality time with him which he requires us to do.

Back to the appointment, I sat down on the bench and looked around and thought God what do you want me to do? I don’t have an answer for direction which I am seeking, but instead, right there was everything he created for his appointment with me. The garden was created by gifts he gave to people to structure an area so beautiful that the waiting room for the appointment was perfect.

This is the point: Jesus many times went to the garden by himself to pray, that was his divine appointment with His Father. We need to do this more, get away from the desk and make the appointment!

Shalom

 

2 thoughts on “Making an Appointment with God

  1. Stacy Lee Flury says:

    Beautifully said. I enjoy spending time in the garden as well. When I pull the weeds I often think about how God needs to pull the things that are not good for me in my life. But in order for growth, I need to get rid of the bad “weeds”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

