be a Willing Servant

Be a Willing Servant

Nancy Sabato

 

 

To be a willing servant we must examine our hearts first. Do we serve God because we

 

are obligated or do we feel pushed or pressured? That is not how our Lord wants us to

 

serve Him. Jesus came in to save so many people of a destructive path that we commonly

 

don’t appreciate all he has done for us. To serve Him is an act of kindness that sometimes

 

goes unseen but always seen by God. Is there something that holds you back?

 

 

When I first started out as a born again Christian, all I wanted to do was serve the Lord.

 

A couple of years ago I decided to volunteer for a non profit organization that housed

 

mentally handicapped adults. I went through the motions and thought I really want to

 

serve God and this seems like a great way. As I started to fill out the paperwork and it

 

was on its way through the screening process, in my heart I felt little hesitant, almost felt

 

like it was going to be a burden on my life, I tried to ignore this and signed up. There was

 

no backing out now, going through the paperwork process and training, I had to show my

 

integrity and stay with it, didn’t want to look like a quitter.

 

 

My paperwork was cleared and  I began to show up every other Tuesday night with my

 

craft box in hand, ready to start some easy projects and spending time with four women,

 

it was a challenge keeping them focused but they seemed to like to color, paint  or cut

 

and paste pictures. It was fun to see them, they remembered a lot about what we did and

 

mostly would talk about their families. But I wasn’t really feeling like I was making an

 

impact spiritually for God as that was my focus as a new Christian.

 

One night I went over there craft box in hand on a very cold night in the winter. As I

 

reached the room where we would meet, no one was there. They completely forgot I was

 

coming. I felt a little insulted at the time, thinking I am showing up as a volunteer and

 

they couldn’t remember? But it was just a mistake. The leaders forgot I was coming, but

 

it was enough ammunition for me to quit going back. I got an email from the person that I

 

trained with she was responsible for volunteers; she asked me why I haven’t been back. I

 

told her the story; she tried to convince me to go back. But my heart wasn’t in it anymore.

 

 

Throughout this stage I prayed constantly for God to show me how I can serve Him. This

 

was a way I could but I didn’t see it at that time. All I wanted to do was constantly share

 

Jesus with others, but as new Christians don’t understand that you don’t have to preach to

 

people to allow the Holy Spirit to come forth in kindness and virtue. Jesus wants us to

 

always share His love story with others, but we can also be a guiding force to others as a

 

living light that comes from our acts of goodness and appreciation.

 

 

Serving God is something that comes naturally because you want to please him. things

 

from your heart are very important to Him and if you don’t fee that this is your talent to

 

serve in a particular way, then do what is your talent and love doing it. Do it with your

 

heart.

 

 

 

 

Copyright © 2011 Nancy Sabato

All rights reserved.

 

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

