When a Season Comes To An End

Many people have  gone in and out of my life, sometimes they go out kicking and screaming, sometimes just a fade away. But I have noticed as I have become closer with The Lord I have lost interest in the old things that use to appeal to me. I used to have a drink with friends, maybe at a bar, I would swear, say, at times things I knew were wrong but didn’t care.

When The Lord came into my life, He swept things away, but my family and friends didn’t understand it. I lost some close friendships that really needed to come to an end, I would lay down my limits with slander, bad language and behavior – they didn’t like it and  I was  made fun of because I didn’t do the things I use to.

But I must go to the scripture in 1 Peter:4-6

4 They are surprised that you do not join them in their reckless, wild living, and they heap abuse on you. 5 But they will have to give account to him who is ready to judge the living and the dead. 6 For this is the reason the gospel was preached even to those who are now dead, so that they might be judged according to human standards in regard to the body, but live according to God in regard to the spirit.

So  I must plainly say that when things come to an end, when the Season is over for you and someone else, you will realize that when you journey with Christ, it is Him showing how to separate yourself  so that you may live according to His will and to be a slave to the situation or sin.

When the Season comes to an end, that is a time of growth and you are learning how to work with the Holy Spirit and conviction of old self and habits. I am living For Christ now and He wants me to live as though I am held to a higher standard, wouldn’t you agree?

2 thoughts on “When a Season Comes To An End

  1. Pat says:

    I totally agree but you need to correct 1 statement,
    “… so that you may live according to His will and to be a slave to the situation or sin…”

    I think you meant: and NOT be a slave to the situation or sin.

    When we do grow closer to Christ, Satan fights harder to prevent us from Him
    who is our Lord and Savior. It’s a good tool to judge how close we are getting to Christ when our so-called friends turn against us, even family, but Christ
    warned us of this and told us to even leave our families to follow Him.

    GBU
    pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

